GD&T Position

ckk33

Registered
Hi guys, I am new to GD&T, I hope someone can help me solve the below question. For the 4 highlighted holes (refer attachement), should I use Datum B or Datum C to calculate the Y Deviation? Many Thanks!

GD&T Position

EdenG

Involved In Discussions
Hi ckk33,

I believe you should level / origin to the face 'A' (Z), rotate to a line between 'B' and 'C' (Y+/- depending on line vector) before finally setting your origin to 'B'.

John Predmore

Trusted Information Resource
Hello @ckk33, welcome to the Cove. You say you are new to GD&T. There is a lot of information communicated with GD&T. It will be helpful for you to remember a single GD&T drawing communicates both information about physical features of the part (such as the size tolerance of the 4 yellow holes, 5.1+0.1/-0), and at the same time it communicates ideal geometry (the virtual location of each of the 4 yellow holes) which is not the same as the physical part. Conceptually, the ideal geometric location of a hole is represented by the centerline of a virtual hole. The tolerance zone which positions the yellow holes is a cylinder around the ideal centerline, of diameter 0.3.

I don’t see a Y dimension identified in the view, so I assume you mean Y as the vertical direction in the view as oriented here, that is, the direction between the 2 holes identified as datums B and C. I don’t see datum A labeled in this view, so most likely datum A is the large flat surface, perhaps the underside surface.