Symmetry or True Position?

umctkim

Registered
Hello,
I'm fairly new to this so I'm hoping someone could help me out please. To position these tabs below, I was going to use symmetry GDT. But after googling a bit and asking my boss, I don't think that's a good idea. So what would be the best way to position them via GDT? Thank you in advance.

Johnnymo62

Haste Makes Waste
The picture didn't come through. I think you have to have 5 posts before you can attach anything. This is about eliminating bots, I think.

umctkim

Registered
Ok sorry - I am trying to attach a picture, and I can only attach via a link. How can I just copy and paste, or upload direction from my computer?

Randy

Super Moderator
Ok sorry - I am trying to attach a picture, and I can only attach via a link. How can I just copy and paste, or upload direction from my computer?
Yes you do but not in the way you tried to do it. You need to be a participant, not a potential SPAM artist.

umctkim

Registered
I think years ago I made some posts asking questions about PPAP and GR&R, but after that I haven't been on for a while until today. If any admins are reading, please allow me to post a pic please. Thank you

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Hello,
I'm fairly new to this so I'm hoping someone could help me out please. To position these tabs below, I was going to use symmetry GDT. But after googling a bit and asking my boss, I don't think that's a good idea. So what would be the best way to position them via GDT? Thank you in advance.
In general, using a position tolerance is better than using symmetry. Symmetry is very difficult to measure, and you cannot use a functional gage to check it, whereas position is easier to measure, and you can use a functional gage. In addition, 2018 ASME Y14.5 removed symmetry as an option.

umctkim

Registered